h1

Built to Spill and Meat Puppets at The Pageant Tonight

March 15, 2008

Built to Spill and Meat Puppets are playing at The Pageant tonight. I am quite excited about this… I am a huge BTS fan and I unfortunately missed the Meat Puppets when they played at the Duck Room last fall. And it’s a Saturday-night show, too, so that’s nice. Helvetia is on the bill, as well.

MP3: Built to Spill – Good Ol’ Boredom (live)
MP3: Built to Spill – They Got Away
MP3: Built to Spill – Get A Life
MP3: Built to Spill – Else
MP3: Meat Puppets – Whirlpool
MP3: Meat Puppets – We Don’t Exist

Built to Spill – “Re-Arrange” (live):

Built to Spill – “Stop the Show” (live):

Built to Spill – “Carry the Zero” (live):

They’ve been covering Brian Eno’s “Third Uncle” on this tour. Here’s a clip of them playing it in Edmonton last year:

Built to Spill – “Third Uncle” (live):

…and I’ve seen Built to Spil’s setlists for this past tour, and a song called “No Lullaby” has shown up on a few of them. Could it be Jethro Tull’s “No Lullaby”? Doug is beginning to look like any number of the members of JT:

Jethro Tull – “No Lullaby”:

One comment

  1. I was really sad I was going to miss this show (I’m a washU student and I’m home for spring break) but it ended up they played in my hometown this week as well! It was a pretty great show, unfortunately my friends were lame and we left before it was over– BTS played an unbelievably long set, with lots of stuff from their first album. The Brian Eno cover is awesome.



Leave a Reply

